top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelindsaymoorcroft

Book Review: Cobble Hill by Cecily VonZiegesar

The latest book from the author who brought us Gossip Girl! Cobble Hill brings everything Gossip Girl had and more – it is the story of four families who live in the same chic neighbourhood, as their lives intersect while they are searching for purpose, friendship, and ultimately meaning in their lives. We are taken along for a great ride filled with heart until a party changes the way all of these families see their respective worlds.

To me, this book felt like an upscale offering from Gossip Girl. Cobble Hill follows families, yes, but more so than that it is the individual characters in the novel that I found really compelling. The way Cecily writes, the personalities these characters have and the way their minds work is very intriguing and kept my attention all the way through. Their problems are so “normal” I felt they were very relatable, and each character brings a new viewpoint to the story and a new ideal they are searching for in their live – there really is a character for everyone to connect with in Cobble Hill.

In addition to the character development, I loved not knowing where these characters were going to end up. The book kept me intrigued as I walked along with these four families to find out where their lives would take them. The story was told at a really great pace, where I felt like I was able to pick up on small details along the way.

Ultimately, Cobble Hill has four very different, very unique and very real perspectives woven through the story from each family and I think that because of this, the story will speak to a wide audience. If you are looking for a smart, and tender story to read – this is for you! It will make you think while making your heart sing.

My only wish from this book, would have been for a little more detail in the ending – but perhaps there will be a second book for that!

4/5 stars on this one for me.



3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page